BMW snatches Nürburgring 24 hours victory

BMW snatches Nürburgring 24 hours victory

In an incredible race that saw all three of the major German manufacturers lead at one point or another, it’s the #25 BMW M3 GT2 that has after 154 laps won the 2010 Nürburgring 24 hours.

In front of 220,000 fans, the #1 Manthey Porsche stormed from 7th on the grid up to 1st on the opening lap, a position it held for the first few hours before crashing early in the night.

Porsche's 911 GT3 R Hybrid came tantalisingly close to an incredible debut win

Porsche’s charge continued though, with the GT3 R Hybrid incredibly taking the lead up until the 22nd hour before heartache when the car featuring a 160hp flywheel based boost button broke down to the agony of the Stuttgart marque.

This promoted the #25 BMW into the top spot ahead of the impressive #43 Ferrari F430 GTC (Farnbacher, Simonsen, Lehman and Seefried) and #97 Audi R8 LMS (Rostek, Ludwig, Bronzel and Winkelhock).  Audi’s #2 car ran at the sharp end before also succumbing to mechanical failure, with their all-star DTM #99 car also retiring early on.

SkiddMark passes our congratulations on to the BMW team, its drivers in the #25 car Uwe Alzen (DE), Jörg Müller (DE), Augusto Farfus (BR) and Pedro Lamy (PT) plus everyone else who managed to finish the race.

Final top 10 (# / Car / Laps completed):

1     25     BMW M3 GT2     154

2     43     Ferrari F 430 GTC     153

3     97     Audi R8 LMS     152

4     76     BMW Z4 GT3     152

5     102     Audi R8 LMS     152

6     20     Porsche GT3 Cup S     150

7     26     BMW M3 GT2     150

8     18     Porsche GT3 Cup S     150

9     69     BMW Z4 GT3     149

10     35     Porsche 997 GT3 Cup     147